TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 42- 63 miles

I woke up shortly after 4:00 this morning to the sound of rain. I didn’t know the time but I was sure I had overslept because the rain wasn’t supposed to arrive in Wheeling until after 9:00. Turns out it was early. Urs and I prepped for another day in the rain. Barb fixed a great breakfast and gave us copies of her book about English landscape.
We rode thru downtown so Urs could visit a local radio station to present his demo CD. His transcontinental ride is doubling as a promotional tour. The rain stopped around the 30 mile mark. We were riding on dry streets by 40. Then it started raining again. The second wave didn’t last long and dropped hardly any water on us.
Around the 55 mile mark, Urs and I parted ways. I enjoyed his company over the 3 days and close to 200 miles we rode together. I now have a friend in Zurich, and he has one in Indianapolis. Given the freaky similarities we discovered during our talks, it won’t surprise me if we meet again.
This was my last day riding the hills. I can’t describe the joy I feel from knowing that. Tomorrow I start riding on the Great Allegheny Passage, headed for the City & O Canal Towpath that will take me into DC.

image

Leave a Reply

