TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 32 – 58 miles

I woke up with a better attitude. I took time at the SuperStart breakfast while I waited for the temperature to rise a bit. When I hit the road I knew it was going to be another good day. The temperature was still cool but not miserable, and it was continuing to warm up.
It didn’t take long before I was in the St Louis suburbs. Most of the ride was city streets. That meant a lot of stoplights. I didn’t mind it. I just tooled along.
When I passed a White Castle sign, I got the crave and couldn’t let it go. I was sure I’d eventually pass by a White Castle. I rode all the way to my destination without seeing one. When Jason asked me if I needed anything, I told him I had to have sliders. He took me. It was almost as good as those donuts in Tulsa.
Beth, Jason’s fiancee, was happy to have missed the slider excursion. She went running with her friend Allison instead. To each his own, you know. After the ladies finished their run, Jason introduced Allison and me to Bourbon Friday. Yup. He buys me sliders then gives me the first glass of Bourbon in over a month. I love this guy.

image

This is the last city in the song. Tomorrow I cross the Mississippi and switch to US 40. I passed 2000 miles today.

2 thoughts on “TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 32 – 58 miles

  1. I took a picture of, I believe, that same Amoco sign two years ago. It seemed unusually large, maybe because it was closer to the ground than we see here. Glad the universe rewarded you with a wonderful weather day after the miserable one!

Leave a Reply

