TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 31 – 53 miles

Mark made fresh ground coffee in the morning. The coffee snob in me was allowed to come out for a little while. It was delicious.
Then he took me to breakfast at Penelope’s, a place where the staff knows him. Two of his friends, John and Glen, came with us. These guys have breakfast weekly. It was fun to sit with guys who are such good friends.
On our return from breakfast, we loaded my bike in the van and Mark drove me to a good place to pick up Route 66. I was cold from the start.
This day was the first of my trip that I’d describe as a bad day. I was so cold that it made me miserable. There really wasn’t anything notable about the ride. I had just left some really nice people. All I thought about was getting done. I considered stopping at each little town. I finally got to St Clair and checked into the Super 8, glad to be done with the day.

Leave a Reply

