TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 28 – 77 miles

The storms were fierce when they arrived. A tornado did a lot of damage and killed a person in the small town of Quapaw, Oklahoma just a few hours after I rode thru. The decision to ride extra miles on Saturday looked even better.
After the storm passed, Jean took me on a tour of the area of Joplin that was hit by a massive tornado 3 years ago. Even after 3 years of repair and rebuilding the view was sobering.
This morning the weather was beautiful, and the wind was mostly at my back. I flew over the rolling hills between Joplin and Springfield. The conditions were perfect for riding. The roads were in good shape and lightly traveled. I slipped into the zone and the miles melted away. I got to Mother’s Brewery an hour and a half earlier than projected. My warmshowers host is a principal employee. What luck!
I had a thought today about how many days I have left to ride. It depressed me. Not because of the count. Because it was a thought that was so far out of the moment. I’ve been in the moment for most of the past 4 weeks. I was really there most of today. I got rid of the thought without even doing the calculation, but it took a while to get back to the present.

image

3 thoughts on “TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 28 – 77 miles

  1. Keep going strong! I tell everyone that will listen about your journey. They all think you’re a bit crazy but I think you’re out living a dream. Enjoy the time out there.

  2. Just enjoy the ride…. the end comes as soon as it can… and maybe fortunately, or maybe unfortunately it can not be prevented. Just have a GREAT ride.

Leave a Reply

