TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 27 – 31 miles

I realize that it doesn’t mean much to say I’m averaging 65 miles per day if I do it by riding 100 one day and 30 the next, but my gamble paid off. I got to Joplin before the rain hit. However I was earlier than Jean, my warmshowers host, expected. While I waited at a nearby McDonald’s, the rain started. Jean picked me up on her way home from church so I did avoid riding in the rain.
While it was a short ride, I hit several trip milestones. I left Oklahoma, the 5th state. Then I left Kansas, the 6th state. Kansas only has about 20 miles of Route 66 but they are just as proud of it as the other states I’ve been in.
The final milestone was entering Joplin, Missouri. It’s the 9th city of 10 mentioned in the song.

image

I rode so little today that I didn’t feel justified in my normal post ride ritual. I just took a shower and drank a big glass of water.

2 thoughts on “TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 27 – 31 miles

  1. Damon, I enjoyed sharing the road yesterday. We’re glad you dodged the rain again, and we hope the Joplin area only gets rain from this weather.

    How do we get you the pictures taken Saturday (26th)?

    

Leave a Reply

