TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 16 – 65 miles

The ride from Santa Rosa to Tucumcari was beautiful and uneventful. I managed to stay off the Interstate for all but 7 miles of the day.
I rode in my little world for a lot of the day. It’s a state of mind that’s hard to describe. I don’t know what I think about. Time just passes and suddenly I’m at my destination.
Tucumcari isn’t at all what I’d hoped it would be.  These towns seem to be struggling to survive. They’re filled with abandoned businesses that used to cater to tourists. The Tucumcari theater has one screen and didn’t have a show on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

