TransAmerica Bike Ride Day 15 – 91 miles

One thing I learned from lots of bike riding is that you haven’t fixed a flat until you’ve found what caused it. My rear tire went flat only 4 miles into the day’s ride. I knew right away that I was dealing with the leftovers from my flat right before Grants.
I searched again and couldn’t find the cause. Sure enough, 20 miles later I was sitting on the side of Interstate 40 changing my 3rd flat, or more precisely,  changing my first flat for the 3rd time. In the process I found the problem. A tiny piece of wire was embedded in the sidewall.
The wind and terrain helped me make up for the tire changing time. I rode at speeds above 20 mph for a significant part of the day.
It took a while for my body and the bike to resynchronize after the rest day, but I arrived in Santa Rosa a day ahead of schedule. Motel 6 had the light on for me.
There really isn’t much in Santa Rosa. I couldn’t even find a bike shop to replenish my flat supplies. I’ll try tomorrow in Tucumcari.
I passed the 1000 mile mark today and I dropped below 5000 feet for the first time in a long time.

Leave a Reply

