TransAmerica Bike Ride – Getting There

Today was my travel day to get to my starting point in Santa Monica. I spent a lot of time figuring out how to get me and my bike to California. In the end I shipped the bike from the Indianapolis REI to the REI in Santa Monica. That went well except the bike didn’t arrive until today. Brian got it unboxed and tuned up so it would be ready when I got there.
Unfortunately,  Southwest Airlines was having a traditional airline kind of day. They delayed my original flight, first by 30 minutes then by another 30 which meant I’d miss my connection in Kansas City. Next they rerouted me thru Denver,  then they delayed that flight twice. I didn’t get to LAX until 8:15. Thanks to the cooperation of Brian at the Santa Monica REI,  and the generosity of Kevin Kelso, my bike was retrieved without me.
Kevin and Mary Beth gave me an awesome place to sleep on my Day 0 night.

Leave a Reply

