Daydreaming Can Be Depressing

Meditating Monk

Those who know me know that I am a big fan of mindfulness. I have tried, on-and-off, for years to reach that empty mind state that Buddhist monks find during meditation. My problem is that my thoughts don’t ever stop! When I examine one and then release it, another one barges right in on its tail, leaving me to deal with it instead of the nothingness that I desire. I must admit that I come closer all the time, but I’ve only experienced the true in-the-moment feeling during long runs.

Now research from Harvard University indicates that the monks are onto something. Apparently, daydreaming has a correlation with depression. Subjects in a recent study who reported being most distracted throughout the day also reported being more depressed. How depressing is that!

Leave a Reply

