Corner Your Market with Basic Customer Service

Belize VacationI just returned from a beach resort vacation. Of all the industries around, none is more customer service driven than the hospitality industry. The difference that a single person can make in a traveler’s pleasure is immeasurable. At the resort where we stayed, our poor concierge was a textbook example of the Peter Principle in action. This guy didn’t have the skills or temperament to successfully accomplish his duties. He was probably a great assistant to someone before getting promoted into his current post.

I won’t go into all the details of his incompetence. Suffice it to say that he did all of the big parts of his job well, but he missed on every single one of those “moments of truth.” And my vacation suffered from it a little bit.

I don’t want you to think that poor customer service will ruin your vacation. Only you can do that. I take a good time with me wherever I go just in case the person who was supposed to bring it forgets. That way, I always have a fallback plan. We used my Plan B several times while in Belize. Darwin notwithstanding, I’d recommend a relaxing or adventurous vacation there — perhaps not at the Costa Maya Reef Resort.

 

Leave a Reply

