Sacrifice a Little

I’m going back to coaching Cross Country this Fall. I took a year off because I didn’t feel fulfilled by the experience. What a crock! I loved coaching. I didn’t like the crap that surrounded coaching like coordinating transportation, or raising money, or trying to get parents to come to meets. I didn’t think my runners enjoyed themselves all that much, but I found out that they took great pride in their ability to stick it out. I told them at our last sports banquet that they were tougher than me because they took longer to finish the race than I would have been able to do.

People ask me when I tell them that I’m going to coach, “How do you find time to do all the stuff you do?” My answer is simple. You find the time to do the things that are important to you. I don’t say, but I often think, “It appears that watching TV is the most important thing in your life.”

I don’t mean to be cruel. It’s just that we all seem to have become extremely soft. We aren’t willing to put in a little effort unless we have some guarantee of incredible success. It doesn’t work like that in the real world. We have to be willing to sacrifice a little in order to have a chance to succeed. Somewhere along the line, parents stopped teaching that to their children.

This rant was brought to you by a day spent in the doctor’s office.

Leave a Reply

