Everyone Has the Entrepreneur’s Work Schedule Now

A recent article at CNN introduced me to the term “weisure.” It’s the blending of work and leisure time that is spreading across America. I found the article interesting because that’s been the way I’ve lived ever since I started my computer outsourcing company, Port-to-Port Consulting, back in 1991. It’s how every small business owner I know has lived for the past decade or more. Sure, it’s easier now because we have smart phones that allow us to reply to email when it’s not our kid’s turn at bat or in the pool or on the field or stage. But we’ve always blended work and leisure. Perhaps it’s happening more because, like Thom Patterson said, our work is more fulfilling as more of us do creative class work instead of toiling away on the assembly line. I don’t know.

I do know that I’m glad more people are doing work the same way that I’ve been doing it. It will become liberating in the long run. You see, when you have a hard time distinguishing between what’s work and what’s play, you can spend more time playing. That’s what I do. I don’t necessarily mean that I take more time to go golfing, but I golf with business associates as often as not. The truth is that many of my business associates are also my friends. In some cases, I don’t remember if we were friends first who became business associates or vice versa. It doesn’t really matter. I’ve found that I enjoy what I do a whole lot more when I like the people for whom I do it. The more I like what I do and whom I do it for, the less it seems like work.

Don’t think that I’m advocating for a 24-7 work life. I’m not. I think we’ve sped up the turnaround time on work to the point that most of us think everything is a crisis if we don’t get an instant reply to our every request. I’m still refusing to use text messaging on my cell phone. I realize I’ll eventually lose that battle, but it just doesn’t make sense to me that a person holding a phone in his hand who wants to reach me by phone thinks it’s better to scratch out a cryptic message than to simply CALL! No. What I’m advocating for is having work that we like enough that we’re willing to work whenever it is convenient to do so. That’s what all of the small business owners that I know tend to do.

Leave a Reply

