How Many People Do You Really Know?

I’m sitting in a customer’s office watching his computer grind away at synchronizing his contact database to his Outlook address book. (For the record, synchronization sucks.) As I watch the nearly 7,000 contacts move, I’m reminded of a recent conversation I hadwith a co-worker about friends. He said he has about 20 close friends. I thought that was a bit high. I know about a couple of hundred people, but I have to say that a much smaller group constitutes my friends.

To me, friends are people I’d drop everything for. They are the ones who can talk me into road trips. They are the ones I’d lend money to without worrying or caring if I get it back. My list of real friends is pretty short, but the love I share with that group eliminates time and distance.

Leave a Reply

