Movies on Demand

I was a latchkey child before sociologists had coined the term. I got home from school every day and let myself in using the key around my neck. Then I proceeded to watch TV for the next three hours until my mother came home to fix dinner. I still remember the theme songs to Gilligan’s Island, The Brady Bunch, The Beverly Hillbillies, and tons of others.

I realized while in high school that TV was an addiction because I worked second shift for part of the summer. I had the TV on for noise while igot ready. There was nothing on but Soaps. I got hooked in less than two weeks. I still recognize characters on All My Children and General Hospital. I spent the next 30 years avoiding TV.

Last Saturday I got a Roku Netflix digital player. I installed it in the morning and proceeded to watch FIVE movies in a row! I had to disconnect the device to get me off the couch.

I guess there are worse things to be addicted to. At least my liver will survive even if my career suffers.

Leave a Reply

