Things Santa Didn’t Bring Me

In the last few years, Santa Claus and I have had a very intimate relationship. You see, he just tells me to pick up whatever I want, wrap it, and put it under the tree with a tag that says it’s from him. I’ve been more than willing to oblige the old man and do my part to lessen his load. This year the deal didn’t go so well. As a result, I have several things that I’d like to have gotten but didn’t. Now I don’t know how to get them before my birthday in June. Of course  I do understand why I didn’t get the same deal with Santa. Most of the things on my list cost in the hundreds of dollars (and I just wasn’t that nice last year).

So I have this list of rather expensive toys and this pile of clothes that my family thinks would look good on me. I don’t want to sound ungrateful. I got to spend time with my entire family and my wife’s too over the holidays. It was great! I also got some excellent gifts that were thoughtfully considered. I just wish I could have gotten that Garmin 405, or a new hybrid bike, or that 18 – 300 zoom lens for my digital camera. Do you see why Santa left me hanging?

It’s just as well though. By avoiding my Christmas booty, I was able to fully fund my gift giving from my cash flow instead of using Mastercard. I was also able to make donations to several charitable organizations that I believe in. And there is still my birthday in June, with Father’s Day right in tow.

Leave a Reply

