We Like to Think We Can Think

Sway is a book I just started reading. It’s a pretty fast read, even for me. It kind of reminds me of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink. It’s filled with stories detailing how people make completely irrational decisions. I am enjoying the read. I don’t know what I can do with the information, but maybe that will come at the end of the book.

The message I’m getting from the book is that for all of the attempts we make to act logically and rationally, we’re actually pretty emotional and impetuous creatures. So if you read Blink, you can see the similarity. I agree with this take on the human condition. Most people will admit, if forced, that they do spend a lot of time finding evidence to support the decision they want to make. A few will deny it, but their close friends can point out numerous examples where they did just that. Since it is the big human brain that we most often quote as the thing that separates us from the other animals, it’s understandable that we want to show it off.

I’m more in the camp that it’s the opposable thumb that really separates us from the other animals. Perhaps it’s even the reason our brains grew bigger. That’s a discussion for another time though.

Suffice it to say that Sway points out the obvious way in which we go about our daily decision-making. The book doesn’t really tell me what to do with the knowledge, so I’ll have to go in search of my own use.Sway

Leave a Reply

