No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

Susie and I just returned from a 10 day tour of Costa Rica. We went there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was the first time we’ve ever done a tour group vacation. We had a great time. Our tour guide, Patricia, has been guiding tours in Costa Rica for 20 years. She made all the difference. Her attention to every detail and effort to give each vacationer personal attention was amazing. More about that later.

On one evening during this tour, several members of our group were playing keep away (Monkey in the Middle) in the resort’s pool. A scuffle for the ball between a couple of people led to a wardrobe malfunction ala Janet Jackson at the Super Bowl. It was obviously an embarrassing moment for everyone so all pretended not to notice until the woman’s husband saw what had happened and told her to adjust her outfit.

To me, she seemed more upset by it than I thought was normal. Instead of doing the smart thing and consulting my wife, who provides most of my guidance in dealing with women, I approached the woman later to try to console her. I don’t remember the exact words I used, but I could tell that the exchange went wrong from her perspective. So then I asked Susie, “What’s a man supposed to do when he notices a woman’s breast is hanging out?” She told me there is no good response for a man except to pretend like he didn’t notice it. Lesson learned.

I got an email from the husband this morning calling me a bad person and wondering how my wife could have stayed married to me for so long. He also told me that drinking makes me act stupid. Isn’t that sort of the point of drinking?

So now this nice couple who could possibly have become good friends are telling all of their friends what a rotten person I am. All because I tried to ease a woman’s pain.

Leave a Reply

