And Still Counting

My wife and I got married over the Memorial Day weekend in 1983. On our first anniversary, I was about to head to Air Force Officer Training School (OTS) and we were to be apart for the summer. A good friend lent us her apartment for the Memorial Day weekend so we could have some privacy. It was a great weekend! Because of that first anniversary, we established a tradition of taking the Memorial Day weekend to spend time alone as a couple. Most years we drive to a city and figure out how we’ll spend the weekend after we get there. On some occasions we plan a trip that includes flying somewhere. Last year, we went to San Francisco for a week. I took that opportunity to give Susie a new wedding ring. I had always told her she’d have to wait until we’d been married for 25 years. When I gave it to her I told her she had earned time off for good behavior.

This year we celebrate our 25th anniversary and we’re going to Costa Rica and I expected I’d get a new ring while there. Instead, I got a few days off for good behavior and received my new ring last night.  We’re in New York with a business group so it was unexpected. We had spent the afternoon at the Bodies exhibition. She told me she had been waiting for a romantic location to give me the ring. After 25 years, any place that I’m alone with her is romantic to me.

Leave a Reply

