Playing by the Rules

Chrysler Crossfire. Back in 2005, I bought a Chrysler Crossfire. It is my second mid-life crisis vehicle. I have enjoyed driving it, and am always looking for an opportunity to test it (and myself). Last Christmas, my wife gave me a Passport 8500 radar detector. I won’t bother with why she felt I needed a radar detector. Yesterday, we took the Crossfire on a trip from Indianapolis to Washington DC to visit my son at Howard University. This was the chance I’d been waiting for to see how well the top rated radar detector worked. It was fantastic… until a very smart state trooper in Maryland busted me cold.

I had been zooming along at between 85 and 90 miles per hour thru Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Maryland, tapping the break and coasting each time the radar detector smelled trouble. My wife and I would smile and wave at the police cars as we passed going slow enough to avoid their attention before pumping back up to speed. Then, on a windy downhill stretch of US 68 in Maryland, the detector screamed, I hit the brakes, and there, right on the side of the road was the wiliest state trooper of them all. This guy knew his territory, and he used it against my technology to bust me going 84 mph in a 65. 84 means he got a reading on me at about the time my foot hit the brake.

He had positioned himself so that the hillside would prevent his radar signal from hitting the road until it was going to return a strong signal to him. He beat the best technology with some simple geometry. I was distraught that he got me, but he was certainly the kind of worthy adversary who makes you strive to improve.

All of this goes to show that it’s hard to beat human ingenuity, no matter how good the technology you apply.

Leave a Reply

