The Mind is an Amazing Thing

I was in Los Angeles a couple of weeks ago attending a conference. I was on the go from 6:30 in the morning until 11:00 or later at night. I met many interesting people who all work in my industry. We shared ideas and thoughts about the history and future of computer support, or technology solution providers, or managed service providers, or whatever the phrase-of-the-day happens to be. My brain hurt by the end of the three and a half day event. I’m still processing some of the thoughts that were shared with me out there.

I also got to spend my first time in warm weather this year. I ran outside each day, and it was oh so much better than the treadmill in the basement of my office at Port-to-Port. In fact, it was so much better that I couldn’t go back to the basement. Instead, I started bundling up in all the high-tech running gear that I’ve collected over the years and going outside. It’s really not that cold here in Indiana these days. I just needed something to motivate me to get out of the basement (until next Winter). Running thru Hollywood was just the trigger for that.

On my way home, my plane was delayed out of LA so I bought a bunch of magazines. Usually I buy titles that I wouldn’t normally consider reading as a way to expand my horizons. This time I bought topics that were related to science: Discover, Scientific American Mind, Psychology Today. I’ve always been fascinated by the brain and the mind and our inability to accurately describe how they work. A lot of progress has been made in recent years, and the rate of knowledge growth is increasing. If you were taught that we only use ten percent of our brains when you were in school, you should spend a little time researching the latest in brain research, or neuroscience, or psychology. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

