Getting Better

We have a limitless number of aphorisms about improving or getting better. They all have the common element that you can’t just stay where you are. You have to be getting better or, by definition, you’re getting worse. Is that really true? Can we not just continue to be right where we are?

I’m struggling with this concept right now. It seems I’ve been striving to get ahead all my life. I’m a goal driven individual. I like having big accomplishments to seek. I’m not finding that same motivation in a lot of the people with whom I come into contact. In fact, I’m finding just the opposite. Most people just let life happen to them and then wonder why things didn’t work out the way they wanted them to.

I wonder how people can be upset with things wheb they didn’t do anything to influence outcome. Lately I realize that they don’t do anything to influence the outcome because they don’t believe it matters what they do. They believe their lot is cast right from the start and they might as well get used to it or start complaining because there are no other choices.

I don’t buy it. I’ve seen the difference one can make by committing to try. I’m not talking about Rosa Parks kind of stuff. I’m talking about the everyday grind: I will do my job better today. I will learn to speak Spanish this year. I’m going to be a nicer person. It takes more than just saying it. You have to believe that you can make a difference. When you start believing, it starts happening. Before you know it, you’re a different person.

Leave a Reply

